Dionex Corporation Home

Follow us  Twitter Blog YouTube FaceBook

Webcast: Anions and Metals Analysis in Hydraulic Fracturing Waters from Marcellus Shale Drilling Operations

Live Webcast: Thursday, July 26th, 2012, at 11:00 a.m. EDT / 10:00 a.m. CDT / 8:00 a.m. PDT / 15:00 GMT
Register FREE at www.cen-online.org/webinars

Hydraulic FrackingThe impact of hydraulic fracturing (fracking) in Marcellus Shale on the quality of environmental waters is being investigated by the U.S. EPA and many state agencies. Public outcry over preservation of water quality has led to the drafting of legislation that specifies fracking discharge requirements, as well as requires drillers to disclose drilling fluids and test flowback waters. Ion chromatography is a proven technique for monitoring fracking flowback and environmental waters for impact by salt intrusion, especially bromide. Increased levels of bromide in drinking water intake systems have been shown to correlate to higher levels of brominated disinfection byproducts. This webinar will cover monitoring of anion concentrations in flowback and produced waters generated from fracking processes. We will present on the typical constituents reported for Marcellus Shale fracking operations as well as measurements of anion concentrations in water from impoundments used for recycling.

We will also focus on obtaining accurate analytical results for trace metals such as arsenic, selenium, and lead in flowback water. This is due to the high level of dissolved salts that can cause both physical and spectral interferences. Trace metals are an important constituent of flowback water and must be determined accurately to ensure compliance with regulatory agencies. In this portion of the webinar, the challenges of flowback water preparation and the subsequent analysis of metals on inductively coupled plasma-optical emission spectroscopy (ICP-OES) and ICP-mass spectrometry (MS) will be discussed.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • The analytical techniques used for anions and metals in waters affected by hydraulic fracturing
  • Which validated methods are appropriate for accurate analysis
  • What scientists are doing to monitor the affects of hydraulic fracturing on environmental waters

Who Should Attend:

  • Scientists interested in environmental analysis
  • Analysts in contract labs, water utilities, and bottled water companies whose source waters may be affected by hydraulic fracturing
  • Lab managers who are considering performing this analysis

Speakers

Richard F. Jack
Manager, Global Market Development, Chromatography Marketing, Thermo Fisher Scientific

John Stolz
Director, Center for Environmental Research and Education, Professor Biological Sciences, Duquesne University

Joelle Streczywilk
Senior Group Leader, Metals, Geochemical Testing

Moderator

Susan Morrissey, Ph.D.
Assistant Managing Editor, Government & Policy, C&EN